How to Permanently Delete Your Gmail Account

How to Permanently Delete Your Gmail Account

Are you wondering how to permanently delete your Gmail account? If so, you’ve come to the right place. This post, will tell you how to delete your Gmail account from the Internet forever.

Deleting accounts can be a little confusing if you have multiple Google accounts and only want to remove one, so read this guide for step-by-step details on how to permanently erase your Google presence.

6 Things to Consider Before Deleting Your Gmail Account

1. You will lose access to your account.

When you delete your Gmail account, you will no longer be able to send or receive email with that email address. Make sure to inform all relevant parties before shutting down your Gmail account.

2. You might lose access to 3rd party services associated with your Gmail account.

If your Gmail account is associated with any other accounts, you might have a bad time. Make sure you update your email address information with these accounts so you don’t encounter the following bad scenarios:

Bad scenario #1: Your Gmail account is associated with your social media accounts and you can’t reset your password or recover your account.

Even worse scenario #2: Your Gmail account is linked to your bank account. Three forms of ID and 14 hours of customer service calls later, you end up with a splitting migraine. Yikes!

3. You might want to download a backup of all your emails.

Before you hit the big red button and delete your Gmail account, you might want to download all of your data. Google has a great article to show you how to do this in their Google Accounts Help Center: How to download your data.

Unless, of course, your goal is to destroy every trace of it. Then by all means, fire away!

4. Deleting your Gmail account will not free up your username.

Nobody (including you) will be able to use your Gmail username (username@gmail.com) in the future. This ensures nobody can impersonate you at your old email account.

5. Deleting your Gmail account will not delete your Google Account.

Your Google Account will remain associated with things like your Search History and YouTube account.

6. It’s possible to recover your deleted Gmail account—but act fast!

Want to retrieve your deleted emails? You have a window of a few weeks to attempt to recover a deleted Gmail account. Find out how to recover a recently deleted Gmail account.

Okay. Still want to delete your Gmail account? Then read on…/

How to Delete Your Gmail Account

  1. Sign in to your Google Account by going to myaccount.google.com and clicking Sign in.Delete Gmail Account
  2. Enter your Gmail credentials and click Sign in.Sign in with your account
  3. On the My Account page, under Account Preferences, click Delete your account or services.Delete Your Account or Services in Google
  4. Click Delete products.Delete Products in Google
  5. Re-enter your password, then click Sign in.
  6. Next to your Gmail account, click the trash can.Delete Gmail Account
  7. Enter any Non-Gmail Address here and click on send verification link.Enter Primary Email Address
  8. You will see this message with instructions telling you to open your email. Click OK, got it.
  9. Open the Gmail Removal Confirmation email in your email. Click the confirmation link.Delete Gmail Account
  10. You will be asked to confirm that you want to remove your Gmail account by entering your password. Enter your password and click Confirm.
  11. You will see a confirmation message like this:Delete Gmail account
  12. Congratulations! You have successfully deleted Gmail from your Google account
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s